The Delaware County Historical Society
invites the community to the
Nash House 2016 Holiday Open House
Sunday December 4 2016
Cryder Center, Nash House 157 E William St Delaware OH
Holiday Open House
The 1878 Nash House will be decorated for the holidays in traditional Victorian style. This year we will highlight past residents of the Nash House. We will feature toys and other Christmas gifts they may have received around 1880-1900. Refreshments will be served.
About the Nash House
This brick Italianate-style house overlooking Delaware’s East William Street was built 1878 for Thomas and Mina Slattery. The home is named for William Henry Nash and his wife Emeline who purchased the home in 1885 and remained a Nash family residence for until 1954. At that time, Miss Pauline Nash presented the house to the Delaware County Historical Society.
The Nash House is generally furnished in the Victorian period with donated furnishings which have a direct connection to Delaware County. The period pieces range from a tall case clock from the late 1700s to a 1928 General Electric Refrigerator. Rooms on display include the parlor, music room, dining room, gentleman’s study, children’s room, bedroom, as well as the kitchen, which was remodeled to match the late 1930s style. The furnishings and reproduction wallpaper make this home a showplace of the elegant Victorian era.
The Holiday Display Continues
The Holiday display will continue to be open through the holiday season during normal operating hours at the Cryder Center and Nash House. Come and experience the Victorian ambiance while you learn about life in Delaware earlier times.
Click For Directions to the Nash House